Key competences

According to the “European Framework for Key Competences for Lifelong Learning” adopted by the Council and the European Parliament in 2006, the key competences are those which all individuals need for personal fulfilment and development, active citizenship, social inclusion and employment. The eight key competences, defined as a mix of attitudes, skills and knowledge are equally important and, in most cases, are all necessary for the development and the fulfilment of a person. They are interdependent and concern:

  1. Communication in the mother tongue

  2. Communication in foreign languages

  3. Mathematical competence and basic competences in science and technology

  4. Digital competence

  5. Learning to learn

  6. Social and civic competences

  7. Sense of initiative and entrepreneurship

  8. Cultural awareness and expression.

For more information read the following:

European Framework for Key Competences